Half Birthday Wrap-Up

London shines in the sun. Please note, the photo is square, the buildings are not.

London shines in the sun. Please note, the photo is square, the buildings are not.

Today was my half-birthday. It’s the only birthday of any kind I will get here in London, and now that it’s over, I realize I had grand plans for it back in January. You know, back before I realized the amount of work I have to do before May begins, and then the amount of work I have in May itself, and then that whole pesky dissertation issue, due in August. Before I was broke, tired, and chained to the library, I had big plans for today.

Instead, the sun shone all day long. The city rejoiced as the mercury neared 60. My Facebook and Instagram feeds were nearly spammed (but in a good way, I promise!) with pictures of friends and favorite buildings, glimmering with smiles and rays of light and all manner of cheesy things straight out of Mean Girls (“I wish I could bake a cake made out of rainbows and smiles…”). Seriously, the weather gods baked that cake today, and took it out of the oven in London. And there wasn’t a single person who didn’t “even go here.”

I worked in the library most of the day, went to a fun dinner with friends, and opening night of my school’s production of Vagina Monologues featuring 4 (other) friends. Not a bad day. And, to wrap it up, I’m making (up) a bucket list (of things that I can think of in the next 5 minutes).

Here are things I’ve done at 26 and things I have left to do:

I don't know how my room now has so much stuff, when I started this adventure with so little...

I don’t know how my room now has so much stuff, when I started this adventure with so little…

  • Move to London, across the big pond
  • Visit the V&A museum here in London
  • FaceTime with family from the Tate Modern
  • Eat at Great Elizabeth Street (because they have awesome food and an even better name, duh)
  • Fit all of my belongings in 2 suitcases, 1 carry-on and 1 personal item
  • Take a few “why not!?” trips on a whim
  • Take a few more “because wouldn’t that be awesome?!” trips on a whim
  • Pass a class
  • Pass an exam (don’t worry, it’s not that I haven’t passed, it’s that I haven’t had one yet)
  • Have a white Christmas
  • Conquer London’s night bus system
  • Conquer London’s tube without using a map
  • Conquer London’s DLR (any suggestions on destination?)
  • Start a blog
  • Discover a new signature dessert
  • Discover a new signature main dish
  • Buy a vintage motorcycle jacket
  • Hike to the top of Arthur’s Seat
  • Enjoy a morning exploring an unfamiliar city alone
  • Break into some Oxford halls, drink with a priest and wear an Oxford dining coat
  • Celebrate my first nephew’s first birthday
  • Go to an epic concert (“Best Concert of the Year!”)
  • Choose a dissertation topic, like I’m a serious adult student
  • Finish my dissertation, like I’m a serious adult student
  • Not owe the IRS at tax season, for the very first time ever
  • Work with a professor as a “Research Assistant”
  • Buy at least 5 tote bags to commemorate London (I’m at 4, so hope springs eternal)
  • Proof of my virtual wedding (not my photo; used with permission)

    Proof of my virtual wedding (not my photo; used with permission)

    Try as many British ciders/beers as possible

  • Virtually attend a wedding
  • Celebrate my 5 year college reunion
  • Move to LA (with 10 days left in 26) – new city, new weather, new year?
3 responses to “Half Birthday Wrap-Up

  1. Good list! And love the photos!! We may have to make that cake when you are home in March! We can celebrate your half birthday together!!!

  2. thanks Annie! and Dice I think we should. It’s been too long since that cake pan got good use! Plus, it’s a great way to celebrate the coming of spring!

Leave a Reply

