2012 in review

Hi friends. It’s been a long time. I know that, and I apologize. Turns out, amidst first papers and packing in London, and then friends, family and parties galore in Virginia and Colorado, Cradle Every Spark took a back seat for the first time since it launched in September.

Overall in 2012, though, I got more than 2,600 views, published 40 posts, and shared with you (my loyal? readers) something like 125 photos. That’s a lot of work for 3 short months that included new things like moving across a big, big pond, making friends with a whole world of new people, remembering how to be a roommate again after a year of snobbery and celebration in my long-gone and oft-remembered studio apartment, taking classes and sitting in lectures for the first time in 5 (!!!) years, and opening a bank account for the first time since I was 12. (That was the year my allowance became $5 a week for all the chores and dog care my sister and I “contributed” to the house. It’s a funny thing now, that at $5/week I had enough to put in a bank in the first place. But, I will say, I remember going to college with a few dollars in savings that helped me get carry-out Chinese from that little place just off campus with all my new friends. What a difference $5 makes.)

Anyway, the WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2012 annual report for this blog. If you want to read it, and indulge in some super cool graphics I’m completely incapable of making myself, check it out. They are interesting/funny. And provide more than enough motivation to do even better in 2013.

Here’s to 2013: the year Elizabeth blogs even more.

Here’s an excerpt from the review:

600 people reached the top of Mt. Everest in 2012. This blog got about 2,600 views in 2012. If every person who reached the top of Mt. Everest viewed this blog, it would have taken 4 years to get that many views.

Click here to see the complete report.

Leave a Reply

